Two days and counting

My Boston Globe piece on Lina and me comes out on Tuesday. We’ve seen the photos and the layout, and I’m working on rereading the copy-edited text. It’s been through several edits, mostly on my end, and now is about finalized. My editor at the Globe (he arrived around the time I left, so we never met) has been pretty amazing. Professional, gentle, asking important questions, making the story better, but also being very sensitive. No final verdict, though, until it’s done and in print.

I’ve written and published several first-person essays over the past 30 years (yikes!), but nothing that has made me feel nearly as vulnerable as this one. Both the words and the photos expose me, and of course Lina, in a way nothing ever has. We believe we’re doing the right thing by telling our story, and we’re proud of the path we’re on. But, whoa, it is scary.

This entry was posted in Out and about, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

