Amendment One: fight comes at a big cost

I submitted this today as a letter to the editor of our local paper, the News & Observer:

I’ve spent significant time and money fighting Amendment One. I’ll dance in the streets if it is defeated, but I won’t cry if it passes because, regardless, the future looks bright for same-sex couples. What does sadden me is the animosity, inflammatory rhetoric, and hypocritical actions I’ve witnessed from both sides. What weighs on me is the more than $3.2 million spent collectively on the amendment, money that could go to feeding hungry families or helping unemployed people find jobs. I know it doesn’t work that way, but I hope those of us who have donated to the cause will examine how much we give in other areas and keep spreading the wealth. Despite my dispiritedness and general Amendment One fatigue, I still believe it’s an important fight. Whatever the outcome of Amendment One, voters on the side of civil rights are the winners in my book.

This entry was posted in Media, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

